GOS4M Virtual Kick-off Workshop

The kick-off workshop of the GOS4M GEO Flagship will be held online on October 7 and 8.

The virtual kick-off workshop will convene major scientific experts on mercury monitoring and will be opened by Monika Stankiewicz, Executive Secretary of the Minamata Convention on Mercury and Gilberto Camara, Director of the GEO Secretariat. The workshop will officially launch the GOS4M Flagship by nominating the Governing Bodies and planning the activity for the coming months.
Download pdf of the following the Agenda.

Global Observation System for Mercury (GOS4M)
A GEO Flagship on Mercury to support the Minamata Convention
www.gos4m.org
Virtual Kick-off Workshop
7-8 October 2020

DAY-1:   7 October 2020

11.00 – 17.00 CEST (17.00-23.00 Beijing; 18.00-24.00 Tokyo; 5.00-11.00 Washington DC/Toronto)

11.00 – 11.50

  • Welcome, Nicola Pirrone, GEO Principal of Italy
  • Highlight on GEO, Gilberto Camara, GEO Secretariat’s Director
  • Highlight on the Minamata Convention, Monika Stankiewicz, Executive Secretary of the Minamata Convention on Mercury
  • Where we stand with GOS4M Implementation Plan, Nicola Pirrone

11.50 – 13.00    Existing networks/programs and data infrastructures – Atmosphere
Co-Chairs: Alexandra Steffen and Ian Hedgecock

  • An update on North American mercury monitoring through the National Atmospheric Deposition Program, David Gay, USA
  • Air monitoring in Canada and the global passive monitoring project, Alexandra Steffen, Canada
  • Mercury observations in EMEP, Kjetil Torseth, Norway
  • SA Mercury Network (SAMNet), Lynwill Martin, South Africa
  • French program of atmospheric observations, A.Dommergue, Olivier Magand, Jeroen Sonke, France

13.00 – 14.00     Lunch

14.00 – 15.10 Existing networks/programs and data infrastructures– Atmosphere, cont’d

  • Mercury observations in China, Xuewu Fu, Shuxiao Wang, China
  • Overview of Norwegian Environmental Monitoring Programs with Hg and their usage in policy and regulatory processes, Joel Ormala, NEA, Norway
  • The Global Mercury Observation System (GMOS), Francesca Sprovieri, M. Bencardino, et al., Italy
  • The Asia Pacific Mercury Monitoring Network (APMMN): Regional Cooperation to Track the Atmospheric Transport and Deposition of Mercury, David Schmeltz, USA
  • Multimedia fate study and monitoring of mercury in Japan, Suzuki Noriyuki, Japan

15.10-15.30       Coffee break

15.30 – 16.30     Existing networks/programs and data infrastructures – Marine & Biota
Co-Chairs: Shuxiao Wang and Jereon Sonke

  • Geotraces and marine observation, Lars-Eric Heimburger, Jeroen Sonke, France
  • MED-OCEANOR, Ian Hedgecock et al., Italy
  • Hg isotope database, Jeroen Sonke, France
  • Applications of the Global Biotic Mercury Synthesis, David Evers, USA
  • Seabirds, fish and bivalves -biomonitoring activities, Paco Bustamante and Jerome Fort, Joel Knoery and David Point, France

16.30 – 17.15    Existing networks/program and data infrastructures – Human BioMonitoring
Co-Chairs: Milena Horvat and Lynwill Martin

  • Mercury HBM on global and regional level: contribution to the Convention implementation, Irina Zastenskayai, WHO
  • Human mercury exposure data in Europe, Milena Horvat, Slovenia
  • Research Infrastructure for EnvIRonmental Exposure assessmeNt in Europe (EIRINE), Katerina Sebkova, Czech Republic

17.15                 Wrap up of DAY-1

——————– O ——————–

DAY-2:   8 October 2020

11.00 – 16.00 CEST (this should be 17.00-22.00 Beijing; 18.00-23.00 Tokyo; 5.00-10.00 Washington DC/ Toronto)

11.00 – 11.45     Highlight of the outcomes of the three topic sessions (by session’s co-Chairs)

11.45 – 13.00     GOS4M Governance Structure

  • The Governance Structure, Nicola Pirrone, Italy
  • Open discussion on the Governance Structure

(The draft circulated before the workshop will be revised as suggested by Steering Committee Members) (ALL)

13.00 – 14.00     Lunch

14.00 – 15.00     GOS4M Governance Structure, cont’d

  • Approval of proposed revisions to the GOS4M Partnership Agreement and Governance Structure (only GOS4M Steering Committee Members)
  • Election of Governing Bodies (only GOS4M Steering Committee Members)

15.00 – 15.20     Coffee-break

15.20 – 16.00     Next steps to be undertaken, Nicola Pirrone, Italy

Wrap-up

Previous article

Tracking mercury to save lives